About

I was born in Passau, Germany, and studied the recorder with Paul Leenhouts at Amsterdam Conservatory, where I obtained an artistic-pedagogical diploma and, subsequently, a Masters Diploma with distinction in 2004. Afterwards I fell in love with Berlin and went on to study with Prof. Gerd Lünenbürger at the  University of the Arts Berlin, where I obtained my concert exam diploma with distinction in June 2008. From April 2015 till March 2016 I was studying a very special instrument – the Helder Tenor – with Johannes Fischer at the Akademie für Tonkunst in Darmstadt. This instrument is so extraordinary, that I am doing an artistic-scientific research on it at the Kunstuniversität in Graz since October 2015.

I regularly perform recitals and teach workshops in Europe and overseas. As former founding member of the recorder quartet QNG – Quartet New Generation, I appear as soloist as well as in different formations like Ensemble U3, Ensemble adapter and recently also in music theater productions e.g. andcompany & Co and Opera Lab Berlin. As a big fan of contemporary music, I have participated in a number of world premières at renowned venues and festivals worldwide with ICTUS Ensemble,Collegium Novum Zürich, Figura Ensemble and Neue Vokalsolisten (among others).

I have won a number of scholarships and international competitions in Berlin, Crakow, Darmstadt, Graz, Göttingen, New York and Rotterdam. Currently I am living and teaching in Berlin and won a lectureship at the University of Arts Berlin in April 2010.

For more information please follow me to www.susannefroehlich.com

View All

Leave a Reply

